Promises to Avery

3 Jul

Commitments to my Daughter

1) As long as you want me to I promise to dress up with you on Halloween. But I’ll also stop when you want me too!

2) I promise to always listen with an open mind and support your decisions. (Except dating anyone at anytime especially if they are a dodgers fan!)

3) I  promise I will let you have the cold side of the pillow and the side closest to the fan.

4) I promise that your Silly Papa (Sr.) will buy you a car…he already made that commitment.

5) I promise to always make a big deal out of your birthdays.

6) I promise to find a way to make it to Disneyland every year.

7) I promise to be at every performance, school function and game that you are a part of…it meant the world to me and I know it will for you!

8) I promise to always take you to the movies.

9) I promise to help you with homework and steer you in the right direction…except for Math. For that we’ll get you a tutor!

10) I promise that if any boy hurts you I will find his father and kick him in the neck because hitting a minor is against the law and really frowned upon. If you don’t want me to fight I am witty and can in fact belittle upon request.

11) I promise that sometimes you aren’t going to like me but trust that my actions are in your best interest and safety. If you are upset scream at your mom.

12) I promise that every time you want to play “pretend” that I will…even if it means acting like we are jumping into a crocodile pit in front of some construction workers on their break!

13) I promise to always let your mom do your laundry…I tend to shrink my own clothes.

14) I promise to always make a big deal out of Christmas, Easter and the Tooth Fairy!

15) I promise to let you watch Goonies in a couple of years….I think right now Sloth might scare you!

16) I promise to always let you play in the back of my truck and honk the horn…especially if David (next door neighbor) is out front and looks hungover!

17) I promise to always have a dog.

18) I promise to always come pick you up no matter where you are or what time of the night.

19) I promise to always go swimming with you.

20) And I promise to always be the best daddy I can and love you and your mom forever!

Leave a comment